the unnatural mother

embracing mother-ing and all its glory – from wet diapers, spit-ups, tantrums to first smiles, hug-a-bugs and sweet cuddles

Baby #3 March 15, 2012

It’s been a long time since my last post! I have a lot in draft form but I realized that I’m trying to put in so much information in one post that I can’t possibly finish it in one session and with so many things (& kids) on my lap (literally), I never get back to it. So for 2012, my posts will be shorter with one or two main points in it!

I gave birth prematurely last November 28 after 2 weeks of in and out of the hospital and a ton load of shots that were just downright painful! I’ve gotten used to the needles and though I’ve been scared of ’em my whole life, I decided to suck it up and just take the leap BUT the medicines in those shots were the killers!

Here are the learnings:

1. when having premature contractions (before 36 weeks; i started having mine at 33 weeks), your doctor would give you the option of having steroids shots to hasten the development of baby’s lungs. This is given in 2 doses – 12 hours apart. It would be good if you check-in the hospital so you don’t have to go back and forth especially if you live quite far (like us) and with manila traffic and pre-term contractions, you’d be more comfortable.

2. what does a contraction feel like? and how does it differ from Braxton-Hicks contractions? Contractions are 3 things in my experience – tightening of the uterus/tummy AND pain in the area a palm above the pubic hair AND pain in the lower back.  Braxton-Hicks are practice contractions of the uterus and does not signify pre-term labor. It is only tightening of the tummy (feels like a watermelon) area WITHOUT the pain. ALTHOUGH, extreme tightening of the uterus to the point of being uncomfortable  is a  valid concern you should talk to your doctor about.

3. it would be better to wear a sanitary napkin when you’re having premature contractions. This is so you can measure the amount of blood (if there is) and show it to the doctor.

4. Special ultrasound procedures can ascertain the well-being of the baby in terms of heartbeat, amount of fluid in the uterus and the opening of the cervix. It would be wise for your doctor to recommend this. I would personally suggest to veer away from Intravaginal procedures as this worsened my contractions.

5. always have your bag, baby’s bag  and your partner’s bag ready by the 7th month! i did this for my first 2 pregnanies but delayed it with my 3rd and up to the last minute, I was not prepared. Good thing I had a yaya (nanny) who prepared everything by phone.

6. RELAX. RELAX. RELAX.

When in doubt or uncomfortable, always tell your doctor. She/he can’t always be sure or explain to you what or why it is happening but there are ways to make you and the baby safe.

 

One Response to “Baby #3”

  1. […] Baby #3 (reeseyenko.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a comment