the unnatural mother

embracing mother-ing and all its glory – from wet diapers, spit-ups, tantrums to first smiles, hug-a-bugs and sweet cuddles

My trip to Hangar Market {Baguio} February 4, 2013

Filed under: Crafts — reeseyenko @ 7:32 am
Tags: , , , ,

I heard that Baguio has yarns to sell. Well, why not, since a lot of knitted, hand-woven and crocheted items are made there because of the cold weather. So when I heard of Baguio trip in the plans, I took the chance and hauled over the whole family there. Besides, we haven’t been there since my eldest was born 6 years ago and none of the kids have been there so it would be a good chance for the kids to experience something new.

On the last day of our stay, I really had to see for myself what Baguio yarns are all about so off we went to Baguio Central Market. From my research, which consists of asking a store seller caught-in-the-act of making a crocheted dress and our hotel concierge, we found ourselves to the right of the Central Market. From Session road, turn Right and take the pedestrian overpass. I suggest you park at Session Road and walk the rest of the way because there is no legal parking from what we saw. Enter the market and turn right and go straight until you see enter the “gulayan” – that is known as the Hangar Market. When the main path splits into a fork, take the left side going up. Walk a little more. When you see an alley to your left and a staircase, turn right and go up the staircase – the 1st yarn shop should be behind you.

Hangar Market yarn

The first yarn shop at the staircase

Don’t expect all the yarns lined up neatly on the shelves because they are not. The store sellers will help you with the color that you’d like but you are free to dig in as well.

Yarn

They spin the yarn here as well.

spinning yarn

There are 2 more yarn shops on the 2nd floor. The one is in the middle of the floor, somewhere between the alleys and the other is directly the opposite side, at the top of another staircase.

I bought these lovely pastel colors which I could never get at the online shop I buy from. I am excited to make something out of it! – a summer dress maybe? In hindsight, I should have bought multiple skeins — aaargh!

pastel baguio yarn

 

2 Responses to “My trip to Hangar Market {Baguio}”

  1. Candy Says:

    how much were the yarns by then (per kilo)? i’m curious about the current prices of the yarns in baguio. 🙂 thank you

  2. reeseyenko Says:

    at that time, it was P30 a kilo


Leave a Reply

